Sirenia Will Release Its Tenth studio album, “Riddles, Ruins & Revelations”, on February 12, 2021


Sirenia will release their 10th studio album, “Riddles, Ruins & Revelations“, on February 12, 2021, via Napalm Records. In this magical outing, the French-Norwegian quartet combines a heavy symphonic sound with modern influences. The 2018 follow-up to “Arcane Astral Aeons” sees Sirenia offering an exciting new twist to her songs, spicing them up with electronic vibes, but never losing sight of their musical core. “Riddles, Ruins & Revelations” was produced, mixed, and mastered by mastermind Morten Veland.

The official music video for the first single, “Addiction No. 1” can be seen below. As the album opener, it immediately shows the direction Sirenia is heading with the new work and is an excellent example of how modern melodies sound alongside classical symphonic instrumentation. The electronic vibes are fused with harsh riffs, while the catchy chorus takes the listener straight into the unique symphonic world of the quartet, all topped off with the outstanding vocals of Emmanuelle Zoldan.

Veland comments: “This is our first single taken from the next album. Musically, I feel that this song really shows a modern and new side of Sirenia. I find the song very catchy, but heavy at the same time. Also, we have given the electronic elements a more important role in this song. We hope you enjoy it! ”

With “Riddles, Ruins & Revelations,” Sirenia stays as true to the pun of the album title as it is to its dedication to symphonic soundscapes, drawing the listener into a pulsing narrative about life’s darkest aspects. The eleven songs accumulate step by step into a comprehensive sonic artwork, where Zoldan’s versatile mezzo-soprano voice always shines in high profile. Furthermore, there are many lovely instrumental surprises lurking along the way that you absolutely must discover.

“We Come To Ruins” offers a stark contrast to the more modern-oriented songs on the album, such as “The Timeless Waning,” and skillfully portrays the multifaceted nature of the band. On “Downwards Spiral”, Emmanuelle is supported by the remarkable vocals of her old friend Joakim Næss in clean voices, who has joined the symphonic metal group on previous releases. Sirenia’s 10th feature film ends with a cover of Desireless’s 1986 hit “Voyage Voyage,” where the unit impressively re-blends symphonic sounds with electronic atmosphere, which not only counts for this final epic but for “Riddles, Ruins & Revelations “as a whole.

Veland comments: “‘Riddles, Ruins & Revelations’ is Sirenia’s 10th studio album. The album is very diverse, as a Sirenia album should be. There is a lot of material that shows the band from a new side, and there is a lot of material that is what is expected of the band musically. Overall, the album will take listeners through a journey that will cover familiar and unexplored musical landscapes. We hope you enjoy the journey. ”

“Riddles, Ruins & Revelations” Tracklist:

01. Addiction No. 1
02. Towards An Early Grave
03. Into Infinity
04. Passing Seasons
05. We Come To Ruins
06. Downwards Spiral
07. Beneath The Midnight Sun
08. The Timeless Waning
09. December Snow
10. This Curse Of Mine
11. Voyage Voyage

Sirenia is:

Morten Veland – guitars, bass, vocals, keyboards, programming
Nils Courbaron – lead guitar
Emmanuelle Zoldan – voice
Michael Brush – drums

[shareaholic app="recommendations" id="28331636"]

Leave a Reply